Crew announces plans for 2011 preseason

Crew begins preparations for CCL quarterfinal on Feb. 22 and MLS First Kick 2011 this week

Renteria scores the first goal against the Red Bulls

Photo Credit: 
Jamie Sabau (Getty Images)

The Columbus Crew today announced the framework of its 2011 preseason schedule, which includes trips to Phoenix and Atlanta. Training begins this Thursday, Jan. 20, at 9:45 a.m. under head coach Robert Warzycha and his staff at the SuperKick/TeamZone facility in Lewis Center (409 Orangepointe Drive).

After a week in Columbus, the team will continue preparations in Phoenix from Jan. 29 to Feb. 18, before returning to Columbus on Feb. 19, in advance of the first leg of the home-and-home, total-goals Champions League Quarterfinal series against Real Salt Lake on Feb. 22.

The Crew will remain in Columbus until Feb. 28, when it will travel to Utah for the return leg of the Champions League series on March 1. The club will then spend a week in Atlanta, followed by a week in Columbus prior to First Kick 2011 at D.C. United on March 19.

While in Phoenix and Atlanta, the Crew will train and play exhibition matches against other MLS teams training in the area. The schedule of those exhibitions is still being finalized and will be released at a later date.

Jan. 20-28: Columbus SuperKick
Jan. 29 - Feb. 18: Phoenix
Feb. 19-28: Columbus (CCL Quarterfinals, first leg, vs. Real Salt Lake, Feb. 22)
Feb. 28 - Mar. 2: Salt Lake City/Sandy, Utah (CCL Quarterfinals, second leg, vs. RSL, March 1)
Mar. 4-12: Atlanta
Mar. 13-18: Columbus
Mar. 19: First Kick 2011 at D.C. United

Preseason (subject to change)

Date Home Away Venue

Saturday, February 5
11am MT
(9am ET)

Columbus Crew
Sporting KC
 
Reach 11 Sports Complex
Phoenix, Arizona
Tuesday, February 8
12pm MT
(2pm ET)
Columbus Crew
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Reach 11 Sports Complex

Phoenix, Arizona

Thursday, February 10
11am MT
(1pm ET)
Columbus Crew
Seattle Sounders FC
Westside Complex Avondale, Arizona
Monday, February 14
3:30pm MT
(5:30pm ET)
Columbus Crew
Colorado Rapids
Westside Complex Avondale, Arizona
Thursday, February 17
11am MT
(1pm ET)
Columbus Crew
Houston Dynamo
Westside Complex Avondale, Arizona